How to Report Child Abuse and Neglect
If this is a life threatening or emergency situation, call your local law enforcement agency or 911 immediately. Then, contact the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services to report suspected abuse or neglect.
There are two ways to report abuse or neglect. You may call the Texas Abuse Hotline 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, nationwide at 1-800-252-5400 or make your report through the secure web site by using your internet browser and going to www.txabusehotline.org
Upon completing your report by telephone, you will receive a reference number so that you can call for the status of the report. If your report was submitted through the secure web site, you will be able to print the report for later reference.
For more information, download the Reporting Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation document.
If you report, your identity will not be disclosed and you are immune from civil or criminal liability.
Be prepared to provide as much information as you can:
- Child’s name, age and address
- Brief description of the child
- Current injuries, medical problems or behavioral problems
- Parents’ names and names of siblings in the home
- Names of relatives in or outside the home
- Any locating information for the child, parents, or other family members or friends
IT IS A CRIME TO FAIL TO REPORT CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT.
This crime is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $1,500 or 180 days in prison or both fine and imprisonment.
If you are not positive that you are seeing abuse and neglect...call...
Abuse Hotline staff are trained to screen calls for reportable abuse and neglect.